Glossary

Move the mouse pointer over a red word in the main text, to view the glossary entry for this word.

Gary Bason (Gerhard Basowitz *1924)

Gary Bason was born on May 2, 1924, in Berlin, Germany as Gerhard Basowitz. His father, Samuel Basowitz, a Polish citizen, owned several stores in Berlin where he dealt in the import of provisions from Denmark and the Netherlands as well as Poland, his mother, Chana Basowitz (née Rubin) was taking care of Gerhard and his two younger siblings, Paula and Norbert. The family kept a kosher home.

 

Mid October 1938, the father was arrested with thousands of other Polish Jews as undesirables and deported to Poland, where in May 1940 he was executed in his hometown of Rudnck by SS special units (SS-Sonderkommandos). On September 13, 1939, also Gerhard, then aged 15, was arrested by the local police. The following day he was transported to the Sachsenhausen concentration camp. There, he was given a striped grey uniform with a matching cap and had to work at the clay pit under horrible conditions for the following three years. Despite hard physical work, the prisoners received only a watery bowl of unrecognizable soup and a small piece of dark bread which had to last until the next evening. In addition, there were beatings by SS. Gerhard was lucky: elder prisoners working for the camp underground helped him and were able to place him away from the brutal chicanery. They assigned him to the machine shop. This lasted for about ten months, when he was placed at the clay pit to maintain the steam shovel and the pumps. One day, two of the German inmates managed to escape. The whole work detail was tortured, being kicked and beaten to confess that they assisted in the escape. For weeks after, Gerhard could barely move his arms and had to ask for help to get dressed, but he kept on working at the clay pit.

 

On October 28, 1942, together with all Jewish inmates at Sachsenhausen, Gerhard was deported by cattle car to the Auschwitz concentration camp. Upon arrival at Auschwitz, his prisoner number 69895 was tattooed on his forearm and he was assigned to forced labor by the SS. He was detailed to a satellite camp named Budy, where he had to do ground works. They were spared beatings by fellow prisoners, due to them being from Sachsenhausen as well. After about two months Gerhard Basowitz was transferred: He now had to retrieve and cultivate swamps for agriculture, hard physical work in constant humidity. He contracted malaria or a form of swamp fever. He survived due to prisoner doctor Dr. Loebner, who stole and supplied him with Quinine from the SS-infirmary.

 

At the end of 1943 he was singled out to return to the main camp to work at the machine shop for arms manufacturer Krupp. His job of handling the gauges which were used in the production included the daily check of the various gauges at the women’s section. One of the women, a friend of his sister’s, told him that his family was deported just before her in March 1942.

 

In January 1945, SS forced the prisoners on the death march: Gerhard Basowitz belonged to a group who had to walk by foot through lower Poland, Germany and Czechoslovakia to Bratislava, where they finally were loaded into open freight cars destined for the Mauthausen concentration camp near Linz in Austria. Nearly two thirds of all inmates did not survive the inhumane conditions of the march. In February 1945, they finally reached Mauthausen where Gerhard Basowitz was detailed to the satellite camp of Gusen for mining works: the inmates had to dig tunnels into the Austrian Alps by hand for the German aircraft manufacturer Messerschmitt.

 

Finally on May 2, 1945, his 21st birthday, Gerhard was liberated by American troops. He weighed 85 lb. Thanks to help by a friend he reached Lille, where he was placed by the authorities into a Catholic field hospital for recuperation. After six weeks he left for Brussels with some friends, where he received some accelerated schooling for the following 18 months and got the opportunity of an apprenticeship to learn diamond cutting.

 

Two of his father’s sisters were living in the States and found out where he was; on December 2, 1947, Gerhard Basowitz emigrated to the US, where he changed his name into Gary Bason.

 

In 2008, he received through the auspices of the Red Cross a copy of the Gestapo records confirming his family’s destiny: His mother Chana Basowitz, his younger sister Paula and his brother Norbert, were permitted to stay in their apartment until March 1942, when they also were arrested and deported to Auschwitz directly into the gas chamber.

 

Today, Gary Bason is telling his story to serve as a living testimony for future generations.

(Gary Bason / SP)

Glossar

Fahren Sie mit der Maus über ein rotes Wort im Haupttext, um den Glossareintrag für dieses Wort zu sehen.

Gary Bason (Gerhard Basowitz *1924)

Gary Bason wurde am 2. Mai 1924 in Berlin als Gerhard Basowitz geboren. Sein Vater Samuel Basowitz, ein polnischer Staatsbürger, importierte Lebensmittel aus Dänemark, den Niederlanden und Polen und besaß mehrere Geschäfte in Berlin, seine Mutter Chana (geb. Rubin) kümmerte sich um Gerhard und seine zwei jüngeren Geschwister Paula und Norbert. Die Familie lebte koscher.

 

Mitte Oktober 1938 wurde der Vater gemeinsam mit tausenden weiterer polnischer Juden verhaftet und nach Polen deportiert, wo er im Mai 1940 in seiner Heimatstadt Rudnck von SS-Kommandos erschossen wurde. Am 13. September 1939 wurde auch Gerhard, zu diesem Zeitpunkt fünfzehneinhalb Jahre alt, von der Polizei verhaftet und am folgenden Tag ins KZ Sachsenhausen gebracht. Dort erhielt er eine gestreifte Uniform und musste in den folgenden drei Jahren unter schwersten Bedingungen in einer Tongrube arbeiten: Bei schwerer körperlicher Arbeit erhielten die Häftlinge nur eine Schale Suppe und ein kleines Stück Brot am Tag zu essen und wurden von der SS misshandelt. Gerhard hatte Glück: Altere Häftlinge aus dem lagerinternen Widerstand halfen ihm und verschafften ihm leichtere Arbeit an einer Maschine. Nach etwa zehn Monaten wurde er in die Tongrube versetzt, wo er den Löffelbagger warten musste. Nachdem zwei Häftlingen die Flucht gelungen war, wurde das ganze Arbeitskommando verhört und gefoltert. Gerhard Basowitz konnte daraufhin wochenlang seine Arme nicht bewegen, trotzdem überstand er die Arbeitstage.

 

Am 28. Oktober 1942 wurde Gerhard Basowitz gemeinsam mit allen übrigen jüdischen Häftlingen von Sachsenhausen nach Auschwitz deportiert. Bei der Ankunft erhielt er die Nummer 69895 in seinen Arm tätowiert und wurde von der SS zur Zwangsarbeit selektiert. Er kam nach Budy, ein Nebenlager des KZ Auschwitz, wo die Neuankömmlinge für Bodenarbeiten herangezogen wurden; sie blieben jedoch vor Misshandlungen der übrigen Häftlinge verschont, da diese ebenfalls alte Sachsenhausener waren. Nach etwa zwei Monaten wurde Gerhard versetzt: Nun mussten sie Sümpfe trockenlegen, schwere körperliche Arbeit bei ständiger Nässe. 1943 erkrankte er an Malaria oder einer Art Sumpffieber, das er nur überlebte, weil der Häftlingsarzt Dr. Loebner für ihn aus der SS-Krankenstube Chinintabletten stahl.

 

Ende 1943 wurde er ins Hauptlager gebracht, um dort Zwangsarbeit für den Rüstungskonzern Krupp zu leisten. Er musste Messteile zu verschiedenen Arbeitsstellen transportieren; dabei kam er auch in der Frauenabteilung vorbei, wo ihm eine Freundin seiner Schwester von der Deportation seiner Familie im März 1942 berichtete.

 

Im Januar 1945 trieb die SS die Häftlinge auf den Todesmarsch: Gerhard Basowitz gehörte einer Gruppe an, die zu Fuß durch Polen und die Tschechoslowakei bis Bratislava laufen musste, von wo sie dann in offenen Güterwaggons nach Mauthausen gefahren wurden. Zwei Drittel der Häftlinge überlebten den Marsch nicht. Im Februar 1945 erreichten die Waggons Mauthausen. Gerhard Basowitz kam in das Nebenlager Gusen zur Zwangsarbeit im Bergbau. Die Häftlinge sollten mit ihren Händen unterirdische Tunnel für den deutschen Flugzeugbauer Messerschmitt graben.

 

Endlich, am 2. Mai 1945, seinem 21. Geburtstag, wurde Gerhard von amerikanischen Truppen befreit. Er wog noch 40 Kilo. Durch die Hilfe eines Freundes gelangte er nach Lille, wo er in einem katholischen Krankenhaus versorgt und aufgepäppelt wurde. Nach sechs Wochen ging er nach Brüssel, wo er in den folgenden achtzehn Monaten seine unterbrochene schulische Ausbildung fortsetzen und anschließend eine Diamantschneiderausbildung beginnen konnte.

 

Die zwei Schwestern seines Vaters lebten in den USA und fanden heraus, wo er sich befand; am 2. Dezember 1947 emigrierte Gerhard Basowitz in die USA, wo er seinen Namen in Gary Bason änderte.

 

2008 erhielt er über das Rote Kreuz die Deportationslisten der Gestapo, die ihm das Schicksal seiner Familie mitteilten: Seine Mutter Chana und seine Geschwister Paula und Norbert waren im März 1942 nach Auschwitz deportiert und gleich in die Gaskammern geschickt worden.

 

Heute erzählt Gary Bason seine Überlebensgeschichte Jugendlichen: Es ist ihm wichtig, sie „zukünftigen Generationen als lebendes Zeugnis“ zu erzählen.

(Gary Bason / SP)