Glossary

Move the mouse pointer over a red word in the main text, to view the glossary entry for this word.

Alexander Feingold (*1924)

Alexander Feingold in front of the 'photo panel of his family, 2008'© Jessica Schäfer
Alexander Feingold in front of the
photo panel of his family, 2008
© Jessica Schäfer
The brothers Joseph, Alexander, and 'Henryk Feingold, Kielce, 1936/37.'Photo panel in the park adjoining the 'I.G. Farben Building, Frankfurt am Main'© Fritz Bauer Institute
The brothers Joseph, Alexander, and
Henryk Feingold, Kielce, 1936/37.
Photo panel in the park adjoining the
I.G. Farben Building, Frankfurt am Main
© Fritz Bauer Institute

“I don’t want to talk about it too much … I am glad I have it from my chest. It is very important that it is shown to future generations. I think it should be shown to people who are not Jewish… It did happen, and I was there to witness it.”[1]

 

Alexander Feingold was born in Warsaw on September 25, 1924. His father, Aron Feingold, owned a factory that produced wooden articles, and his mother, Rachela, worked in the sales department. Alexander had two brothers: Joseph, who was older, and Henryk, younger. He himself first attended a Yiddish school in Warsaw, until the family moved to Kielce in 1932 and Alexander Feingold had to transfer to the Polish public school there. The only Jew in a class of 60 pupils, he often was called names by his classmates. His parents belonged to the Bund, and Alexander Feingold and his brothers were members of its youth organization. Bombs fell on Friday, September 1, 1939: Alexander, Joseph, and Aron Feingold first fled in the face of the German advance, but returned to Kielce some time later. The family was torn apart: His father was arrested, and Joseph escaped to the Soviet-occupied area. Alexander, with his mother and brother Henryk, was forced in spring 1941 to move into the ghetto in Kielce. Alexander Feingold was allowed to keep working in his father’s former factory and thus had access to better food supplies.

 

His plans to join the Polish underground were betrayed in May 1943. Together with his cousin Leon, he was forced to work in a munitions factory. Both ran away, but no one helped them, and so they finally came back to Kielce. Later he learned that his mother and brother Henryk had been taken to Treblinka and murdered. In August 1944, the remaining inhabitants of the ghetto were deported to Auschwitz, and Alex and Leon were placed in the Buna/Monowitz concentration camp. Alexander Feingold was deployed to build air raid shelters, but he volunteered to defuse unexploded bombs, and received ample bread and tobacco in return. He always shared his rations with Leon.

 

The camp was vacated by the SS in January 1945. On the death march, the prisoners were transported in cattle cars through the annexed areas of Czechoslovakia and Austria to Germany. The concentration camps everywhere were filled to overflowing, and the prisoners were fed at most twice a week. Near Dresden they witnessed the mammoth bombing; weak though they were, they sang and danced at the sight. Alexander Feingold was put in a work detachment in Ellrich, a subcamp of the Mittelbau-Dora concentration camp, about 10 km (6 miles) from Nordhausen. Weakened by diarrhea, he was taken four weeks later to the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp, where he was freed by the British in April 1945, but remained in the hospital until February 1946.

 

Alexander Feingold moved to Frankfurt am Main, where he was reunited with his father and brother Joseph: both had returned from Siberia, been repatriated to Poland, and fled to Germany to escape the overt anti-Semitism. In 1947, Alexander Feingold emigrated to the United States, where he finished school, became an architect, and married in 1966. With his wife, Diana (née Coon), he has three sons. Today Alexander Feingold lives in New York. He never spoke about his experiences to his father and brother, who also came to the United States in the 1940s.

(SP; transl. KL)

 

 

Photo Panel of Alexander Feingold



Source 

Alexander Feingold, oral history interview [Eng.], July 26, 1995. USC Shoah Foundation Institute, Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Archive, Code 4383.

[1] Alexander Feingold, oral history interview [Eng.], July 26, 1995. USC Shoah Foundation Institute, Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Archive, Code 4383.

Glossar

Fahren Sie mit der Maus über ein rotes Wort im Haupttext, um den Glossareintrag für dieses Wort zu sehen.

Alexander Feingold (*1924)

Alexander Feingold vor der Fototafel'seiner Familie, 2008'© Jessica Schäfer
Alexander Feingold vor der Fototafel
seiner Familie, 2008
© Jessica Schäfer
Die Brüder Joseph, Alexander und Henryk'Feingold, Kielce, 1936/37. 'Fototafel im Park des I.G. Farben-Hauses,'Frankfurt am Main'© Fritz Bauer Institut
Die Brüder Joseph, Alexander und Henryk
Feingold, Kielce, 1936/37.
Fototafel im Park des I.G. Farben-Hauses,
Frankfurt am Main
© Fritz Bauer Institut

„I don’t want to talk about it too much … I am glad I have it from my chest. It is very important that it is shown to future generations. I think it should be shown to people who are not Jewish… It did happen, and I was there to witness it.“[1]

 

Alexander Feingold wurde am 25. September 1924 in Warschau geboren. Sein Vater Aron Feingold besaß eine Fabrik für Holzartikel und seine Mutter Rachela arbeitete im Verkauf. Alexander hatte zwei Brüder, den älteren Joseph und den jüngeren Henryk. Er selbst besuchte zunächst eine jiddische Schule in Warschau, bis die Familie 1932 nach Kielce umzog und Alexander Feingold auf die dortige polnische öffentliche Schule wechseln musste. Er war der einzige Jude in einer Klasse mit 60 Schülern und wurde von seinen Mitschülern viel beschimpft. Seine Eltern waren Mitglied beim „Bund“, Alexander Feingold und seine Brüder waren in dessen Jugendorganisation. Am Freitag, dem 1. September 1939, fielen Bomben: Vor dem Einmarsch der Deutschen flohen Alexander, Joseph und Aron Feingold zunächst, kehrten aber nach einiger Zeit nach Kielce zurück. Die Familie wurde auseinandergerissen: Sein Vater wurde verhaftet, Joseph entkam in die sowjetisch besetzte Zone. Alexander wurde mit seinem Bruder Henryk und seiner Mutter im Frühjahr 1941 gezwungen, ins Ghetto in Kielce zu ziehen. Alexander Feingold konnte weiter als Angestellter in der ehemaligen Fabrik des Vaters arbeiten und hatte so Zugang zu besserer Lebensmittelversorgung.

 

Seine Pläne, sich dem polnischen Untergrund anzuschließen, wurden im Mai 1943 verraten. Gemeinsam mit seinem Cousin Leon wurde er zur Arbeit in einer Munitionsfabrik gezwungen. Beide flohen, aber weil ihnen niemand half, kehrten sie schließlich wieder nach Kielce zurück. Später erfuhr er, dass seine Mutter und sein Bruder Henryk nach Treblinka gebracht und ermordet worden waren. Im August 1944 wurden die verbleibenden Ghettobewohner nach Auschwitz deportiert, Alex und Leon kamen ins KZ Buna/Monowitz. Alexander Feingold wurde zum Bau von Flugabwehrräumen eingesetzt, meldete sich freiwillig zum Bombenentschärfen und erhielt dafür ausreichend Brot und Tabak. Er teilte seine Rationen immer mit Leon.

 

Das Lager wurde im Januar 1945 von der SS geräumt. Auf dem Todesmarsch wurden die Häftlinge in Viehwaggons durch die annektierten Gebiete der Tschechoslowakei und Österreichs nach Deutschland transportiert. Überall waren die Konzentrationslager überfüllt, zu essen gab es kaum zwei Mal in der Woche. Vor Dresden sahen sie das große Bombardement, schwach, wie sie waren, sangen und tanzten sie bei dessen Anblick. Alexander Feingold kam ins Arbeitskommando nach Ellrich, ein Außenlager des KZ Mittelbau-Dora, etwa 10 km von Nordhausen entfernt. Geschwächt von Durchfall wurde er nach vier Wochen ins KZ Bergen-Belsen gebracht, wo er im April 1945 von den Briten befreit wurde, aber noch bis Februar 1946 im Krankenhaus lag.

 

Alexander Feingold zog nach Frankfurt am Main, wo er seinen Vater und seinen Bruder Joseph wiedertraf: beide waren aus Sibirien zurückgekehrt, nach Polen repatriiert worden und vor dem offenen Antisemitismus nach Deutschland geflohen. Alexander Feingold emigrierte 1947 in die USA, wo er die Schule abschloss, Architekt wurde und im Jahr 1966 heiratete. Mit seiner Frau Diana (geb. Coon) hat er drei Söhne. Heute lebt Alexander Feingold in New York. Seinem Vater und seinem Bruder, die ebenfalls in den vierziger Jahren in die USA kamen, hat er nie von seinen Erlebnissen erzählt.

(SP)

 

 

Fototafel von Alexander Feingold



Quelle

Alexander Feingold, Lebensgeschichtliches Interview [Eng.], 26.7.1995. USC Shoah Foundation Institute, Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Archive, Code 4383.

[1] Alexander Feingold, Lebensgeschichtliches Interview [Eng.], 26.7.1995. USC Shoah Foundation Institute, Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Archive, Code 4383.